Fruit cake (paleo)

IMG_5494The first time I tried to make a paleo bread, I got a dry and hard thing; not sweet at all and without anything positive on it.
But now I’ve tried (and modified) a new recipe and it turned out to be an amazing combination of flavors and textures, it is a nice and soft, lightly moist cake.

 

I know is not the prettiest thing in the world, that’s because I decided to don’t  flatten the surface when I poured the mixture in the tray, but don’t worry, sometimes appearances are deceiving!

IMG_5514

  • 1 1/2 C almond meal
  • 1/2 C coconut flour
  • 1/2 c ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 c coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp honey (optional)
  • 1/3 c olive oil
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 6 egg whites
  • lemon juice (of 1 lemon)
  • 1/2 c cranberries
  • 1/2 c frozen berries (I used organic ones)
  • 2 small apples (peeled and chopped)

Easy as pie!

First, turn your oven on to 175˚C

Now soak the dried cranberries in hot water.

In the mean time, beat the egg yolks and add in the oil, lemon juice and coconut milk. Then add all of the dry ingredients and mix well.

IMG_5503Now beat the egg whites until soft peaks form.

Drain the cranberries and add them to the mixture, also add the other fruits. Fold until combined.

Finally, incorporate the egg whites, DO NOT OVER MIX!!!

Now pour the mixture in a loaf/cake tray and bake for 45-50 min. (well, my friend tried it as well and she got it cooked at 35 min, so it really depends on your oven).

 

Then let it cool (otherwise you’ll burn your tongue as I did) and enjoy with a ice-cold glass of almond milk!

