My chilhood ‘pancake’

Finally we had our holidays. We woke up, my little sister was looking for some bread for her breakfast but she found none. She asked me to go with her to the bakery. Non sense! Outside it was raining, and cold. It was the middle of the winter.

DSC02998

So I went into the pantry, looking for some flour and yeast to make her some bread, then I though that she wasn’t going to wait for 2 long hours to have some bread… So I remembered the kind of cake-bread that I used to have back in my childhood. It used to be sweet and soft. Just nice… not too dry, not too crumbly; just perfect!

And the best part of all; is that It wouldn’t take that long to make.

So I started; I first had to search in my very old books of cakes to find the right recipe, and finally I got it, so here we are, let me share this recipe with you.

 

 

DSC02988

The ingredients that you’ll need:

130g butter (melted, warm)

175g plain flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

140g icing sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp of vanilla essence

1/2 tsp salt

 

 

DSC02985

Directions:

Preheat the oven 170˚C

Grease a 20x20cm cake tray.

In a bowl, sieve the flour and sugar, add the salt and baking powder.

Beat the eggs (apart)

Add to the dry ingredients the eggs,vanilla and butter; beat until the mixture is homogeneous.

Pour the mixture into the tray and bake for 25 min.

Then let it cool in the tray for at least 10 min (If you can resist the temptation of eating it) and then serve it.

It can be eaten with some sweet spreads or by it self… with some hot drinking chocolate as well. As you wish.

Enjoy!

DSC02995

 

 

