Carrot sponge cake

A couple of weeks ago I started to look for a recipe to bake one of these, but I could’t find any that convinced me, so I started to improvise. As a result, I created a cake that is almost like a soufflee which means, it involves a lot of egg white. This may or may not sound really good but it gives the cake an amazing consistency. I’ve seen that many paleo recipes for cakes and cookies unse baking soda, but for me that powder is not pale! so I’ve decided that if I wanted my cake to raise, it would have to be done in a different way. Egg white was my solution. So here I’ll give you the recipe that I used, I hope you like it!
IMG_9000

Ingredients:
Icing: (icing recipe obtained from  here)
1/2 cup cashews
1/4 cup  water
¼ teaspoon vanilla extract
1 Tbsp. honey
1 Tbsp. coconut butter

Cake:
3 peeled carrots
4 small eggs
8 dates
6 Tbsp. Almond flour
1tsp cinnamon powder
1tsp cardamom seeds
a pinch of salt

 Directions:


Icing:
Blend all the frosting ingredients in a food processor or high-speed blender until smooth. Add to a bowl and set to the side.

Cake:
Separate the egg whites from the yolks, put the yolks in a food processor and add the cardamom seeds and the dates, pulse until dates are cut into smaller pieces.
Cut the carrots in slices ( no need to make them super thin) and add them to the processor, keep beating until everything becomes an even purée-ish mixture add the flour and beat a little bit more.
Now, beat the egg whites until you form a foam, slowly add the melted honey and keep beating until you reach peaks (no need to be stiff peaks, soft ones are fine).
Now that both of your mixtures are ready, carefully fold the whites into the other mixture. You really don’t want to other handle this because otherwise, your cake will not be foamy.
Now that the mixture is ready, put a baking paper on a baking dish and pour in the mixture and bake for 20 min. at 150˚c then turn the oven up to 170˚c and bake around 10 minutes more.
Once it looks nice and gold from the outside remove it from the oven and let it cool a little, then add the icing and enjoy!
IMG_9003

IMG_8987

IMG_9009

