After the Paleo diet

After six months of strictly following the Paleolithic diet, I’ve now decided to go back to the ‘modern sedentarian lifestyle’.

IMG_0156

At the beginning it was very hard, I’ve been so in love with this diet that even if I had a piece of freshly baked croissant in front of my I wouldn’t feel like having it, even if I was starting to allow myself to eat all sorts of foods, I would involuntarily go for nuts and veggies instead of rice, bread or anything that wasn’t paleo.

Now it has been 4 months since I’m not on the so called diet and I still remember those glorious days, every now and then I wish I hadn’t stopped it but I’m now surrounded by different situations that prevent me from keeping on it. There have been some good aspects and some bad ones about this change;

A very good thing that I was starting to get tired of; is that when I go to a restaurant I don’t have to analyse for hours the menu before finding something that was paleo. My stress about food has been largely reduced, because like it or not, little by little I was getting very anxious when it came to know if what I was eating was paleo or not.

On the other hand, all those sugary treats that I’ve been having, haven’t helped me a lot with keeping my body as it used to be. To be honest, I haven’t been able to return to my paleo body shape/ weight but I believe that if I start doing some more exercise and having less of those slices muffins and pancakes I can go back to what I used to like of my physical self.

There is always a solution and this post is only for people that feel like they can’t get into a diet or have experienced things like me. What I’ve realised is that everything is a matter of determination; to be on a diet is not hard if you enjoy it (as I said, I really was in love with the paleo diet) but now I’m aiming to get my determination back but focusing it on a different thing; instead of keeping on a diet, I’ll try to be  more active. So I don’t know how long it will  take me but I hope I’ll be soon be able to adapt to a new lifestyle.

 

IMG_0164

